Accessibilty Act

In 2017 Bill No. 59, “An Act Respecting Accessibility in Nova Scotia”, was proclaimed in the Nova Scotia Legislature. The Accessibility Act recognizes accessibility as a human right, and sets a goal to make Nova Scotia an accessible province by 2030. The goal of the act is to prevent and remove barriers that restrict people with disabilities from fully participating in society. It enables the government to develop standards for accessibility and outlines responsibilities for some public sector bodies, including municipalities.

The Act clearly outlines the actions municipalities must take:

  • Prepare and make publicly available an Accessibility Plan within one year of the Act being enforced.
  • Create an Accessibility Advisory Committee with at least one half of the members being persons with disabilities or representatives from organizations which represent persons with disabilities.
  • Seek public input to help develop the Plan.

In the Accessibility Act:

  • A disability is defined as “a physical, mental, intellectual, learning or sensory impairment, including an episodic disability that, in interaction with a barrier, hinders an individual’s full and effective participation in society.”
  • A barrier is defined as “anything that hinders or challenges the full and effective participation in society of persons with disabilities, including a physical barrier, an architectural barrier, an information or communications barrier, an attitudinal barrier, a technological barrier, a policy, or a practice.”

For more information about the Accessibility Act visit the Accessibilty Directorate.

Accessibility Advisory Committee

The role of the Accessibility Advisory Committee is to advise municipal councils on identifying, preventing, and eliminating accessibility barriers to municipal programs, services, and infrastructure. At least one half of the members of the advisory committee must have a disability or represent an organization that represents people with disabilities.

The Municipality of the District of Shelburne, Town of Shelburne and Town of Lockeport have developed a joint committee called The Eastern Shelburne County Accessibility Advisory Committee.

The Eastern Shelburne County Accessibility Advisory Committee’s role is to assist the three municipal units (Municipality of the District of Shelburne, Town of Shelburne and Town of Lockeport) to develop an Accessibility Plan in accordance with “An Act Respecting Accessibility in Nova Scotia, 2017 (The Act). The AAC provides advice to the municipal councils on identifying, preventing and eliminating barriers to people with disabilities in municipal programs, services, initiatives and facilities. The Committee plays a pivotal role in the creation of barrier-free communities and in ensuring the obligations under the Act are met.

Terms of Reference Accessibility Advisory Committee (32 KB)

Easter Shelburne County Accessibility Plan


Community Members

Terry Stacey  - Town of Lockeport
Bil Atwood - Town of Lockeport
Holly Perry - Town of Shelburne
Sylvia Snow - Municipality of Shelburne
Wanda Buchanan - Municipality of Shelburne

Council Members

Kent Balish - Town of Lockeport
Ben Nickerson - Town of Shelburne
Ron Coole - Municipality of Shelburne

Staff Members

Frances Scott, Community Coordinator - Town of Lockeport
Nicole Blades, Administration and Human Resource Officer  - Town of Shelburne
Adam Dedrick, Director of Recreation & Parks - Municipality of Shelburne

The Accessibility Advisory Committee meets monthly or more often if necessary. 

For inquiries contact one of the following:

Nicole Blades, 902-875-2991 ext 4.
Town of Shelburne
168 Water Street, Shelburne 

Frances Scott, 902-656-2565,   
Town of Lockeport
26 North Street, Lockeport

Adam Dedrick, 902-875-3544 ext. 225,  
Municipality of the District of Shelburne
136 Hammond Street, Shelburne